Topic Options
#10200 - 03/12/07 03:03 AM Expansion Loop to Loop distance!!
Shahid Rafiq Offline

Loc: Abu Dhabi UAE
I am new to pipelines. I have a problem of providing expansion loops on a long pipeline.

If I have the following:

1) Material (Hence allowable stress, coefficient of thermal exp), diameter & thickness of the pipe.
2) Temperature of the pipe.
3) Insulation information (Type, density, thickness).
4) the applicable code (B31.4 or B31.8)
How can I get the anchor to anchor length (between which I have to give one loop)using above information? Is there any equation / procedure? Or is it only some rule of thumb (each 50m or so)? Can anybody help?

#10215 - 03/12/07 01:22 PM Re: Expansion Loop to Loop distance!! [Re: Shahid Rafiq]
CraigB Offline

Loc: Denver, CO
If you just want a "ballpark" guess as to the number of loops required, there are many sources that give expected stress levels for expansion loops of particular dimensional ratios. Probably, though, you want to do some analysis to be a little more precise.

Typically, you want to anchor long pipelines between each loop, or each pair of loops. You choose an arbitrary distance between anchors (the longer the better) and find how big an expansion loop you need (the longer the anchor-to-anchor distance, the bigger the loop, but you want smaller loops). So you have to balance two conflicting goals - long spacing between anchors vs. small loops desired.

If you have minimal lateral loads due to wind, waves, seismic, etc. you might be able to accomplish both, but normally after one or two loops you have utterly destroyed the ability of the system to resist horizontal loadings. Don't forget to consider external occasional loads parallel to the long run of the pipe - if you have too many loops between anchors these loads could cause one or more pipe shoes to fall off their support steel.