Topic Options
#864 - 01/01/03 11:17 PM Postprocessing for Response Spectrum
Jaewan Chang Offline

Loc: Seoul, Korea
Hi,

I am studying the response spectrum analysis with CAESARII. I found some strange description about summation method of response. The grouing method and ten percent method show different equation and description. For example, grouping method said "the response of any modes which have frequencies within 10% of each other first be added together absoultely, with the results of each of these groups then combined with the remaining individual modal results using the SRSS method". The equation said different meaning.

The equation said that results of all mode are summed using square. The group modes are summed absoultley with each other mode.

My questions are

1. The square sum should be used to sum the other mode that are not included in the grouping?

2. The absoultely sum should be sum with one by one not multiply with each other?

Please give me a piece of advice.

#865 - 01/02/03 11:32 AM Re: Postprocessing for Response Spectrum
Jim Wilcox Offline

Loc: Calgary, AB, Canada
Both the Grouping method and 10% method are similar. They differ in how they define the closely spaced mode band. The Grouping method presumes that modes that fall within a group are within a 10% band, while the 10% method considers modes within 10% of a mode of interest, that is, taking 10% above and below the mode of interest; an effective mode band of 20%.
In both cases, these closely spaced modes are absolutely summed within their group, based on the assumption that they will likely see their maximum response at the same time during the dynamic response. In both cases, modes that are outside of the prescribed closely spaced mode band are presumed to see their maximum at a different time, so are added to other modes and grouped mode summations using the SRSS method.

#866 - 01/02/03 06:15 PM Re: Postprocessing for Response Spectrum
Jaewan Chang Offline