Topic Options
#71346 - 03/25/18 09:45 PM Fabric Expansion joints
Saipat Offline

Loc: India
Dear All,

Greetings!

I'm new to CAESAR II and currently working on piping stress analysis inside steel plant. I have few queries regarding fabric expansion joints. The Pipe size is 1900mm and the client doesn't want any load on the equipment. Can some one suggest me on the stiffness part and pressure thrust force at the expansion joint location?

Suggestions are appreciated.

Regards,
S

#71352 - 03/26/18 11:23 AM Re: Fabric Expansion joints [Re: Saipat]
Michael_Fletcher Offline

Loc: Louisiana, US
For fabric expansion joints, the stiffness and loads are so low as to effectively be 0. Piping movements must be controlled so as not to exceed allowable.

#71361 - 03/27/18 11:51 AM Re: Fabric Expansion joints [Re: Michael_Fletcher]
Saipat Offline

Thank you micheal. Since the stiffness is zero, do we still need to consider the thrust force at the expansion joint connection?

#71362 - 03/27/18 01:59 PM Re: Fabric Expansion joints [Re: Saipat]
Michael_Fletcher Offline

So long as the fabric stiffness is much lower than the pipe stiffness, no.

#71366 - 03/27/18 09:17 PM Re: Fabric Expansion joints [Re: Saipat]
Saipat Offline

Thank you for your reply Michael.

#71379 - 04/01/18 05:03 PM Re: Fabric Expansion joints [Re: Saipat]
Faizal K Offline

Loc: USA/Malaysia
The equipment and pipe anchors may still have to withstand the pressure thrust if the pressure is not zero even if the axial stiffness of the joint is small. But since it's a fabric EJ, I'm guessing the pressure is insignificant.

#71387 - 04/03/18 12:17 AM Re: Fabric Expansion joints [Re: Saipat]
Khalidmf Offline

Loc: india