Topic Options
#7111 - 03/12/04 12:57 AM PD5500 - Nozzle Design
leehc Offline

Loc: Singapore
Dear Sir,
All the while, I am using ASME to design my vessel. This is my first time I design vessel using PD5500. OK, for the nozzle design in ASME, it is very straight forward but I found that it is very confusing using PD5500. How to calculate the compensation area for the opening? When to use pad? Is there any maximum limit for the nozzle thickness compare to the shell thickness? For my case, I don't allow to use pad and my vessel thickness only 9.5mm (due sour service). What precaution step I have to look after if I use self-reinforce nozzle in such a thin vessel. Am I violating any part of the code. Is section 3.5.4.9 Alternative "pressure area" design method is mandatory or just an alternative design where we can ignore it?

I have to be very careful with my design as all these items involve long lead delivery time.

Your help is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Regards,
Lee

#7112 - 03/12/04 08:30 AM Re: PD5500 - Nozzle Design
Ray_Delaforce Offline

Loc: Houston, TX
Hello Lee

Ok, PD 5500 has a very different approach from ASME in the design of nozzles. ASME simply (in effect) replaces the area removed by excess shell thickness nozzle thickness, and if required, the addition of a reinforcement pad. PD 5500 basically determined the stress concentration at the nozzle opening, and then restricts the stress. Perhaps the best way to understand the method is to do a couple of 'hand' calculations, and then the procedure will become clear. However, this is basically the procedure employed by PVElite: