Topic Options
#40230 - 01/18/11 05:23 AM PRESSURE THRUST
________ Offline

Loc: World
Dear Friends,

I am new to CAESAR II software & Stress analysis.

I understand, when a piping system without expansion joints is pressurized, the system will not move because the pipe is countering the force in tension. When an expansion joint is in the system, the pressure thrust force tends to pull the ends away from the expansion joint causing damage to itself and the pipe. This Pressure Thrust must be contained with main anchors which should carry the pressure thrust.

For a 36” pipe with pressure 150 psig, Pressure Thrust = 678817 N. Main anchors should resist these Pressure Thrust forces in the system when there is an expansion joint in the line. The same pressure thrust force should we consider (checking for support size) in a piping system where there is no expansion joint; will the pipe itself counter these pressure thrust forces. As the numbers are more I want to know it clearly. How high pressure piping can withstand this pressure thrust? Also please show me some reference standards. Kindly enlighten me.

Thanks in advance.

#40231 - 01/18/11 05:35 AM Re: PRESSURE THRUST [Re: ________]
MoverZ Offline

Loc: Hants, UK
Internal pressure in an ordinary piece of pipe with closed ends will cause axial pressure stress due to the pipe wall resisting axial pressure.

Axial pressure stress = (pressure x internal area)/ metal area

Similarly hoop stress will be produced and resisted by the pipe wall in the circumferential direction.

Since hoop stress is numerically approximately twice axial stress, axial stress alone will never be the limiting factor on maximum pressure. Internal pressure will always be limited by the wall thickness exposed to hoop stress. Many factors such as allowable stress, corrosion allowance and manufacturing tolerance will have an impact on the allowed internal pressure for a given pipe diameter and wall tickness.