Topic Options
#69579 - 07/25/17 09:16 AM Stresses Report SIF different than 3D Plot SIF
mkady Offline

Loc: Alberta
Hello,

I'm a relatively new piping engineer and have been doing some reading on SIF's, how they are calculated, etc. I was taking a look at the SIF's shown in the stresses report in CAESAR and noticed that they don't match the values I see in the 3D Plot view. Has anyone noticed this?

In my case I have an 8" Sch.40 elbow and in the stresses report the SIF values are 2.365 In Plane and 1.971 Out Plane. The same node when viewed in the 3D plot has SIF values of 2.44 and 2.03. I know in this case it's unlikely to be significant due to how close these values are but can anyone explain why they are different?

PS

I decided to check another model of mine and found a larger variance in SIF values between the report and 3D plot.

Stresses Report - 1.710 and 1.425 (IP/OP)
3D Plot - 2.33 and 1.94 (IP/OP

Regards,

Mark

#69580 - 07/25/17 10:56 AM Re: Stresses Report SIF different than 3D Plot SIF [Re: mkady]
Dave Diehl Offline

Loc: Houston, TX, USA
I'm unsure of your reference to SIF values shown in the "3D Plot view".

And I will assume you are using B31.3.

These stress intensification factors (SIFs) have been in the Code for many years - Markl's team introduced them in the late 1940's. They were bending moment multipliers intended to produce an effective stress used in evaluating the effects of fatigue. These numbers are calculated in accordance with (B31.3) Appendix D. [And updated, now, in B31J.]

Appx. D Note 6 has a pressure adjustment for (thin wall, large diameter) bend SIFs. This will vary the SIF from one load case to the next based on the pressure included in the load case. If the change you see is rather small, this is the most-likely cause. Note that the Miscellaneous Report holding SIFs will show a range of SIFs because of the changing pressure and, perhaps, Young's Modulus.