Topic Options
#692 - 07/22/02 10:32 AM what is the mean of "code stress" in caesar II?
peterDan Offline

Loc: toronto
I am a layman of piping stres computation. now because a design project involved sveral pipes, I bgan to learn CAESAR II, now I can use this software, but what confused me was the concept of "Code Stress", In the expanion of a strait pipe (anchored in both end), the Code stress is zero, but actually from cold to a high temp, a strong force produced because of expansion, so why code stress is zero, what is the mean of this concept? thank you very much for your kind help?

confused

#693 - 07/22/02 11:21 AM Re: what is the mean of "code stress" in caesar II?
John Breen Offline

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA (& Texas)
Hello,

Yours is an interesting question. This is a topic that is addressed in seminars because it points out that although you are using the best software for piping stress analysis, you also MUST have an understanding of the Code and of basic Piping system design.

"Code stresses" are those that are specifically addressed by the Code. The B31 Pressure Piping Codes address the BENDING stresses (and torsional stresses) due to thermal expansion/contraction and they also address the longitudinal BENDING stress (due to weight) added to the longitudinal pressure stress (the sum of these stresses is called the "sustained stresses" or the "additive stresses").

As you point out, If a designer were to analyze a system that had a straight piece of pipe between two rigid anchors, the Code equations would not address the resulting stress in the pipe because it is not a bending stress - it is a compressive buckling stress. The Code is not intended to be a design "handbook", it is assumed that the designer understands piping systems and that he/she will not place a straight piece of pipe between two anchors.