Topic Options
#68760 - 04/05/17 11:02 PM Pump Nozzle Loading
tsarbomba Offline

Loc: Japan
Hello everyone.
I am new to pipe stress analysis. I am having trouble reducing the load in the pump nozzle. My problem is that out of 3 axis, two axis have load below allowable limit and one axis has over. The combined is also below the allowable limit. Will this have any impact to the pump?

#68786 - 04/09/17 12:16 PM Re: Pump Nozzle Loading [Re: tsarbomba]
danb Offline

Loc: ...
each component require different approach.
Exactly which one is causing you trouble?

#68807 - 04/10/17 01:23 AM Re: Pump Nozzle Loading [Re: tsarbomba]
CAESARIII Offline

Loc: Seoul, S.Korea
Yes,
and can we see the configure?

#68821 - 04/10/17 03:41 PM Re: Pump Nozzle Loading [Re: tsarbomba]
Michael_Fletcher Offline

Loc: Louisiana, US
If the pump is strictly an API style pump with API specified allowable loads, the pump fails if it exceeds any of the 3 component forces or any of the 3 component moments, or if it exceeds the API specified combined loading. E.G. if it is an API 610 pump, you should check the API 610 specification, as well as the API 610 module built into CAESAR.

If instead the manufacturer specified permissible forces and moments for his nozzles, then that is something you have to take up with the manufacturer, or otherwise address in your piping system.

Without more detailed information on the routing, I can offer the following generic recommendations:
• Too much weight on top of your pump? Spring can.
• Too much thermal growth axially into your pump? Add expansion loop. If on the suction, pass it back through the hydraulic analyst (i.e. process engineer.)
• Too much thermal growth laterally into your pump? Expansion joint (or loop). Again, process engineer. If on the discharge, ensure that the expansion joint has tie-rods if there's a turn close to the pump to avoid expansion joint accordion action.

#68824 - 04/10/17 08:12 PM Re: Pump Nozzle Loading [Re: tsarbomba]