Topic Options
#67521 - 10/24/16 07:29 AM Help On Understanding Expansion Joint
Baskar_N Offline

Loc: India
Dear Sir/Madam,
I am a beginner in Piping Stress. I tried to understand how CII incorporates Expansion Joint in its analysis.I thought the Pressure thrust is "Pressure * Eff.ID" which is irrespective of piping configuration and Restraint arrangements.

First Picture shows piping configuration

Second Picture shows restraint summary without Axial stop at node 1180
(No pressure thrust, No forces acting on the anchor)

Third Picture shows restraint summary With axial stop @node 1180
(Pressure thrust 2914N is acting on the restrains.)

P.S: Bourdon Effect excluded in the analysis.

Attachments
plot wo rest.jpg

restraint summary-no rest.JPG

restraint.jpg

Edited by Baskar_N (10/24/16 07:30 AM)

#67524 - 10/24/16 02:18 PM Re: Help On Understanding Expansion Joint [Re: Baskar_N]
Michael_Fletcher Offline

Loc: Louisiana, US
Force = Pressure X Area.

0.105 MPa x π x (188mm)²/4 = 2914.7 N

A note of caution: This is only the static pressure. You may need to at times consider dynamic pressure, as well.

Edited by Michael_Fletcher (10/24/16 02:24 PM)
Edit Reason: Add calcs

#67528 - 10/25/16 08:01 AM Re: Help On Understanding Expansion Joint [Re: Michael_Fletcher]
Baskar_N Offline

Dear Michael thanks for helping. can you please help me to understand "Pressure Thrust" in expansion joints and CII incorporates pressure thrust in a piping system?

Thanks in Advance

#67529 - 10/25/16 09:06 AM Re: Help On Understanding Expansion Joint [Re: Baskar_N]
Michael_Fletcher Offline

An expansion joint is primarily designed to take up some lateral movement, not axial. However, the nature of an expansion joint makes it more susceptible to the bourdon effect compared to standard piping, hence "pressure thrust."