Topic Options
#6330 - 08/15/06 10:14 AM Modeling "U"-bolt guide and fix type
DORIN PETREA Offline

Loc: Romania & Nigeria
Hi Everybody,
I'm a beginner in CAESAR II,a self teaching one,but I do my best to understand the input,the restraints especialy.It is any manual,except the Application Guide,that contains examples with different type of supports and their modeling?
In regard of the restraints maybe you can help me to clarify the followings:
-to input an "U"-bolt,guide type with 2mm gap lateral and on top of pipe(with Z the axis of pipe)it is accurate to be modeled like this:
Restraint Type:X Gap:2mm
Type:-Y Gap:2mm
-to input an "U"-bolt,fix type,it is correct to be modeled like rigid anchor:
Restraint Type:ANC
Thank you for the reply.

#6331 - 08/15/06 12:30 PM Re: Modeling "U"-bolt guide and fix type
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
Quote:
It is any manual,except the Application Guide,that contains examples with different type of supports and their modeling?
Not published by COADE.

Quote:
-to input an "U"-bolt,guide type with 2mm gap lateral and on top of pipe(with Z the axis of pipe)it is accurate to be modeled like this:
Restraint Type:X Gap:2mm
Type:-Y Gap:2mm
Almost, but "no". You would need this:
Restraint Type:X Gap:2mm this takes care of the lateral direction
Restraint Type: -Y Gap:2mm this takes care of the gap when moving up, but the node is free to move down - therefore you also need
Restraint Type: +Y this prevents the node from moving down

Quote:
-to input an "U"-bolt,fix type,it is correct to be modeled like rigid anchor:
Restraint Type:ANC
"No", that would fix all six degrees of freedom. Assuming the pipe in the "Z" direction, you would want two restraints:

Restraint Type: "X"
Restraint Type: "Y"

This would allow rotation about the three axis as well as longitudinal movement in "Z".

#6332 - 08/15/06 12:54 PM Re: Modeling "U"-bolt guide and fix type
John Breen Offline

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA (& Texas)