Topic Options
#62613 - 04/07/15 07:29 AM How to find the in-plane/out-plane bending moment.
Rajivgandhi Offline

Loc: tamilnadu, india
I am new in piping stress analysis, i am doing manual calculation for bending stress as per ASME B 31.3 code, as per code we are not able to find the formula for bending moment.

Sb=sqrt ((ii*Mi)^2+(io*Mo^2))/(Z)

Where
ii = in-plane stress intensification factor (appendix D)
io = out plane stress intensification factor (appendix D)
Mi = in plane bending moment,
Mo = out plane bending moment,
Z= section modulus of pipe.
We know in-plan SIF and out-plane SIF but only Mi and Mo is unknown.

Kindly advice me how to find the in-plane bending moment (Mi) and out-plane bending moment (Mo).

by

rajiv

Edited by Rajivgandhi (04/07/15 07:32 AM)

#62614 - 04/07/15 08:04 AM Re: How to find the in-plane/out-plane bending moment. [Re: Rajivgandhi]
Borzki Offline

Loc: Traz
Hello,

Equations for getting the Bending moments Mi and Mo cannot be found in Code. These can be found from Strength of Materials book. For simple configurations such as a cantilever you can easily find equations in strength of materials books and do a manual calculation. But for a piping system, it's complicated to do a manual calculations, although in the past where computers are not readily available, there are some simplified equations to calculate different piping configurations. But at present, where computers are available almost everywhere there are many softwares such as Caesar II to calculate the Forces and Moments in the piping system based on different loading conditions such as weight, thermal, seismic, wind etc.