Topic Options
#62290 - 03/04/15 10:35 AM hanger design (1-E-Modulus, 2-Friction)
Ali_TP Offline

Loc: Düsseldorf, Germany
Hi everybody,

im relatively new in Caesar II-calculation (since 1,5 year). I have the following 2 questions/remarks concerning spring hanger design in Caesar II, these facts are based on Caesar II 5.3 and were tested and confirmed under the 7-Version (2014).

-Spring Design in Caesar II 1(assuming a linear system without friction) begins with the 1-HGR load case, which in fact determine the needed reaction load of a rigid restraint at the wished spring location due to weights loads. The calculated force is then put as constant force at that location while system is subjected to the design operating temperature to determine the spring displacement this load case is 2-HGR. Knowing the spring force and the displacement at operating condition, installation load is calculated. The calculated installation load is then put as external load for combination with other loads. We consider its combination with the design operating temperature and weight and pressure-for which the spring is designed- as OPE-load case. It s expected in linear analysis to have the same displacements and loads at the spring node for the load cases 2-HGR and OPE, what is well the case in Caesar II calculations. But this is in Caesar II only then the case when the E-Modulus is the same for 1-HGR and 2-HGR, this is what i could not understand.

I have collected the results in Excel-sheet, that i can share with the
program file i needed. In the sheet i compared many possibilities to show this and i mentioned the problems.