Topic Options
#51913 - 11/26/12 12:57 PM 2D representation
Zippy Offline

Loc: Pennsylvanina, USA
I am new to Cadworx so bare with me. I was just told by a coworker that the only way to create a 2D working drawing from a model is to use the 2drep and 2dreph commands to extract edges and hidden lines from a viewport showing a view of the model and effectively copy them into the paperspace of a drawing. Correct me if I'm wrong but if a model is changed, every 2d drawing referencing that part of the model will then need to be regenerated? This seems counterproductive to the whole idea of using xrefs. Isnt there a way to keep the elements in the xref and only refresh the view of that model dynamically?

#51914 - 11/26/12 01:13 PM Re: 2D representation [Re: Zippy]
dgorsman Offline

Mods, this should be moved to the CADWorx Plant forum.

You don't *have* to 2DREP a drawing. It can be printed with the viewport set to obscure hidden lines. But many clients don't want to have to deal with XREFs in their returned drawings, even if they get the models as well. Others just want dumb, 2D drawings. So the 2DREP can be put off until the return-to-client phase.

Trying to keep everything programmatically linked between an XREF'd model and a a set of 2D linework is a very, very difficult task. Most attempts I've seen are prone to disconnects, require the actual licensed software (not just object enablers), and are generally unstable even when executed under ideal circumstances.

#51915 - 11/26/12 01:37 PM Re: 2D representation [Re: Zippy]
Zippy Offline

Loc: Pennsylvanina, USA
my biggest problem is that there will be drawings that are missed and which go out incorrect. This just seems to be a long way around. It would make more sense to me if the 2drep just coverted the view shown in the viewport and not copied into the paperspace. That way it would be truely a dynamic model/drawings.

#51923 - 11/26/12 11:06 PM Re: 2D representation [Re: Zippy]
Vanman Online   content