Topic Options
#4711 - 01/26/06 12:11 PM Spring supports - sign convention
CHW Offline

First off, I am a relative newbie at this all, but I haven't been able to clarify my confusion about the following through the help, the CII documentation, or other discussion groups.

How does the representation of a spring support account for whether the spring is initially in tension or compression in the installation (cold) condition? I am attempting to model an existing piping system containing a few spring supports, all of which are spring supports sitting below the pipe. Example:

Support 'A': Cold load = 2400 lbs, Hot load = 2800 lbs, Travel = 0.50" DOWN
Support 'B': Cold load = 3500 lbs, Hot load = 3100 lbs, Travel = 0.50" DOWN

i.e. During thermal expansion, spring 'A' is moves down and the spring force increases. This indicates that the spring is in compression at the cold state, and the downward travel further compresses the spring, increasing the spring force. Conversely, spring force 'B' decreases with downward travel, which suggests that the spring was initially in tension and therefore the downward travel returns the spring towards it's "no load" length, so the load decreases.

Modelling these supports as a YSPR (or a predefined hanger, for that matter), my only inputs are stiffness and cold load. A subcontractor modelled all of these supports identically: Positive cold loads and stiffnesses. Clearly the opposite spring forces will affect the result and need to be accounted for...

My instinct on how to model this was to use a positive stiffness value when the change in load and the travel have the same sign (i.e. both +ve or both -ve, like example 'B'), and use a negative stiffness value in the opposite case (A).