Topic Options
#44886 - 09/22/11 12:43 PM Valve Support Modelling
JHughes Offline

Loc: United Kingdom
Hi all,

This is my first post on this forum, as i am fairly new to Caesar.

Within a closed loop piping system, i have modelled several valves as rigid elements, with a representative mass assigned. These valves are to be supported by brackets which fit to the bolting flanges of the valve, (the valve is a 3 piece isolation ball valve). The brackets are fitted to a base which is then located on a sliding bearing surface.

I have applied 2 +Y supports to each valve, one at the inlet and one at the outlet of the valve. On some of the valves, i am getting lift-off at only one of the supports, i.e. the pipework is pivoting about the support.

My concern is that the two pipe supports are not linked together in the caesar model, whereas in reality they are connected to the same base plate.

Should i simply model these supports with a single support on the valve midpoint?

Any help will be appreciated

Attachments
valve support.gif

Description: Image of Valve Support Bracket

valve support caesar.gif

Description: Picture of Valve Support within Caesar

#44889 - 09/22/11 01:26 PM Re: Valve Support Modelling [Re: JHughes]
Dave Diehl Offline

Loc: Houston, TX, USA
They look more like Y supports rather than +Y.
Or, you could add a moment restraint at one of those +Y's. For example, if you pipe is running in X, add an RZ.

#44890 - 09/22/11 01:36 PM Re: Valve Support Modelling [Re: JHughes]
JHughes Offline

Loc: United Kingdom
The base plate on which the valve support brackets are attached is merely sitting on the slider bearing which allows the support to move in the X-Z plane and there is nothing in theory to stop the base plate from lifting away from the slider bearing in the +Y direction. Therefore i wasnt sure that it was accurate to apply a moment restraint.

#44893 - 09/22/11 01:58 PM Re: Valve Support Modelling [Re: JHughes]
bom Offline

Loc: Manila, Philippines