Topic Options
#44675 - 09/13/11 01:39 PM How to ? : Spring Supporting a Pipe
Alain123 Offline

Loc: Montreal,Canada
Hi everyone,

I am quite new to Caesar II and I have been reading the provided documentation. However, from time to time I run into a few questions.

I currently have modelled a simple pipe that goes in the x+ direction, then y+ after a small bend, then z+ after another bend. The pipe is anchored at both ends and hot air runs through it at ambient pressure. The pipe is also supported before the first bend (Y+ type restraint)

Having run the static analysis, I have noticed that the force on the support was quite high and I though that a spring support situated after the second bend and pre-stressing the pipe (cold state) in tension rather than compression would ease the force on supports and anchors and stresses in the bends.

I am not sure how to model this support. I currently have a YSPR at that node. The spring stiffness (Stif field) is 4000 lbf/in, the force applied at cold state (F field) is 8000 lbf, so the spring is pre-compressed by 2 in, finally, the spring is bottomed-out in the Y- direction (so 0 for "x" field ?)

I want this support to correctly model these behaviours :
- The force acts in the Y+ direction (is the positive 8000 lbf already representing this?)
- The spring is bottomed out in the y- direction
- After 2 in. of Y+ displacement, the spring will no longer be compressed

Have I correctly modelled this support?

Also, the documentation mentions : "X/Y/Z SPR can be preceded by a (+) or (-)" which it cannot. What is up with that.

P.S. : I have version 5.2

Thanks in advance

#44707 - 09/14/11 12:40 PM Re: How to ? : Spring Supporting a Pipe [Re: Alain123]
Ibrahim Demir Offline

Loc: Australia
Alain,