Topic Options
#21528 - 10/14/08 08:29 AM Influence of temperature on Piping natural frequencies
Thomas MILAN Offline

Loc: France
Hi all,
I've got one question about the influence of the piping temperature on the natural frequencies of a piping system.
If i remember well, stiffness matrix of a piping element would be something like E.Iz/L3 [ ... ] so it is influenced by the temperature since the Young modulus varies with the temp.
I am currently studying a piping system which operates either at 100°C or at 400°C, what induces a slight difference on Young modulus (4%).
So i want to know if it is possible in CAESAR to take it into account, or if you think it is negligible...
I first thought that when you specified a load case for the restraint linearization, CAESAR uses it to choose the appropriate Young modulus as well, but it seems it's not true.
Does CAESAR use the cold Young modulus as default in modal analysis?
Thanks in advance for your help...

#21530 - 10/14/08 09:02 AM Re: Influence of temperature on Piping natural frequencies [Re: Thomas MILAN]
shr Offline

Loc: Singapore
Hi Thomas

Yes it is possible to change elastic modulus manually for respective temperature.
While building the load case go to load case option & from the drop menu change EC to EH1 or EH2 as you required.

#21558 - 10/14/08 04:32 PM Re: Influence of temperature on Piping natural frequencies [Re: shr]
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
Yes CAESAR II uses the defined EC value for the stiffness matrix when determining natural frequencies.

#21577 - 10/15/08 06:19 AM Re: Influence of temperature on Piping natural frequencies [Re: Richard Ay]
Thomas MILAN Offline

Loc: France
Thank you for your replies,
However i now wonder if it's necessary to change default values EC to EH1 & others on every load case in static calculations as well.
Is it a common practice to use hot elastic modulus?