Topic Options
#4190 - 11/16/05 09:43 AM Dynamic Analysis & 2-phase flow problem
Kelly Lawson Offline

Loc: Baton Rouge, LA
I'm new to dynamic modeling in Caesar II, so please bear with me.

I'm analyzing a gas hydrotreater on which the heater feed piping is vibrating. (A little background: Hydrogen gas is dumped into the gas oil prior to a series of interchangers. After the interchangers, the 2-phase mixture is fed into the heater.)

Our client wanted not only a static analysis to resolve issues with the pipe supports, but also a 2-phase flow analysis and a dynamic analysis.

Our process guys indicate that the predicted 2-phase flow regime is not the cause of the vibration. So, I am having to do a dynamic analysis in Caesar II to try to find out what's causing it.

My question is, if all I have are flow velocities, pressure drop, and pipe and fluid properties, is this enough information to complete a dynamic analysis in Caesar II?

I should note that we do not have slug flow (it's annular-dispersed), and no occasional shock loads (i.e., no quick-closing valves, no wind loads, no vibrating equipment, etc). I'm also curious to know just what Caesar's capabilities are, and will my static analysis (placement/type of supports) be affected by the outcome of the dynamic analysis?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Education is when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get if you don't.

#4191 - 11/16/05 11:11 AM Re: Dynamic Analysis & 2-phase flow problem
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
Quote:
My question is, if all I have are flow velocities, pressure drop, and pipe and fluid properties, is this enough information to complete a dynamic analysis in Caesar II?