Topic Options
#33021 - 02/05/10 11:19 AM Need help to determine Expansion Joint for bad piping desig
windu_n Offline

Loc: Indonesia
Dear all,

At this time, I try to analyze a system to save some bad piping design.

I have a 48" line that connect to the exhaust of the turbine. The piping design didnt give me enough flexibility to save the turbine nozzle. so Im thinking, What the posible solver is using the expansion joint, but after I do the analysis the expansion joint didnt give so much answer for my problem. Load of the nozzle still to high compare with the allowable

this is my first time to use the expansion joint in my calculation, frankly Im still not sure my EJ model is correct.
so please help me to determine what should the Exp. joint type that I need to select and give me some direction to model the Exp. Joint properly.

here I attach my caesar file

Turbine

Best regard.

Windu

#33037 - 02/08/10 10:28 AM Re: Need help to determine Expansion Joint for bad piping desig [Re: windu_n]
Richard Yee Offline

Loc: Chesterfield, MO 63017
windu,

The expansion joint length of 192 mm is very short for the 1219 mm diameter piping to have any practical lateral flexibilty. There is also the missing pressure effective diameter of the bellows element of expansion joint, which will be at least the 1219 mm of the piping for most designs of the expansion joint.

A tied universal joint is one design for addiing lateral flaexibility to a piping configuration. The addition of a second expansion joint into the horizontal piping just past the elbow might be a simple improvement to get more flexibility to reduce piping loads on the turbine. The piping layout has very little available space for adding components for flexibilty. If the node 140 could be shifted to provide more offset in the piping, then some more flexibility or even space for a tied universal expansion joint could be considered.