Topic Options
#28842 - 07/23/09 08:23 AM Dynamic VS. Static simulation
Ferex Offline

Loc: Italia
Hi everybody, I am studying the use of snubbers, I read the manuals and forum posts, I need some clarification about the use of dynamic simulation, when and where the dynamic choice is imperative? when can we choose a static simulation obtaining very similar results? I know the question is very general but I need some expert consideration on this topic or some case study. Many thanks

#28849 - 07/23/09 11:04 AM Re: Dynamic VS. Static simulation [Re: Ferex]
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
If the overall response of the system is dominated by a single mode of vibration, then you can typically get good results from a "static-equivalent" analysis. The problem with this statement is that unless you perform a dynamic analysis, you won't know if the overall response of the system is dominated by a single mode of vibration.

#28857 - 07/24/09 01:13 AM Re: Dynamic VS. Static simulation [Re: Richard Ay]
Ferex Offline

Loc: Italia
Is it correct that to know modes of vibration of a system I have to do a modal analysis?
I didn't study it yet, so I don't know, maybe in the next time I will ask here about it.
What kind of simulation I have to do to simulate a compressor nozzle?

#28858 - 07/24/09 02:52 AM Re: Dynamic VS. Static simulation [Re: Ferex]
rak Offline

Loc: india
Hai ferex,

Most probably u choose Time history analysis.

#28869 - 07/24/09 06:41 AM Re: Dynamic VS. Static simulation [Re: Ferex]
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
Quote:
Is it correct that to know modes of vibration of a system I have to do a modal analysis?

Yes.

Quote:
What kind of simulation I have to do to simulate a compressor nozzle?

Dynamic analysis is driven by the type of loading more so than the object (compressor nozzle) under study. What is your dynamic event?

#28883 - 07/26/09 02:39 AM Re: Dynamic VS. Static simulation [Re: Richard Ay]
anindya stress Offline