Topic Options
#1012 - 04/24/03 07:25 PM Dresser Coupling
KOO KEUN HOE Offline

Loc: south KOREA
How can I modeing 'Dresser Coupling' in expansion joint modeler.

#1013 - 04/28/03 02:20 PM Re: Dresser Coupling
Dave Diehl Offline

Loc: Houston, TX, USA
Koo Keun Hoe,

I cannot be specific in modeling these couplings as I have no direct knowledge of them. I believe they serve as connectors between sections of pipe or pipe and other components such as pump nozzles. These connectors have some play and perhaps some "nonrigid" stiffness.

Of course, the important considerations in CAESAR II center on stiffness, displacement and load. You can model these terms for your coupling through a restraint with stiffness and gaps. For example, to model a coupling between two pipes run a pipe from 10 to 20 and a second pipe from 21 to 30. Model the coupling as a set of six restraints at node 20 with a CNODE of 21. Specify a stiffness if a gasket with a given stiffness is present and add a gap if there is some play in the joint.

There is more information on this approach in a newsletter article on Victaulic couplings in the June 1998 issue. You can find this on our website under the Support heading.

Dave

#21759 - 10/23/08 01:38 AM Re: Dresser Coupling [Re: Dave Diehl]
STC Offline

Loc: Taegu
I am going to model Victaulic flexible coupling (DN350)on the pump suction line. The pipe runs on the X axis. The typical way for modelling seems to restrain all six degree of X,Y,Z,Rx,Ry and Rz with gaps specified from the vendor catalogue using CNode. However, I read the article on the Coade News letter prepared by David Diehl, and it mentioned only X, Ry and RZ have to be restrained with gaps(not mentioned for other directions).

Please advise which way is correct.

Regards
Sok

#21801 - 10/24/08 08:38 AM Re: Dresser Coupling [Re: STC]
Dave Diehl Offline

The focus was on those three DOFs (X, RY, RZ).