Topic Options
#21739 - 10/22/08 08:49 AM Seismic evaluation of buried pipelines
morenogcesar Offline

Loc: Anzoategui, Venezuela
Good afternoon,

I am a student of Mechanical Engineering of the Universidad de Oriente (Venezuela) that this developing a thesis that consists on the evaluation of the mechanical design of the northeastern system of gas for the geologic crossings faults. I have already carried out analytically the calculations following the limits of ASCE, ALA and according to the guidelines of seismic verification for buried pipelines. However, I should carry out simulations in CAESAR II4.40 to validate the results. I were revising their web and I realized that they propose ways to carry out these evaluations. As could simulate the conditions for permanent deformation of the floor, bouyancy due to liquefaction, abrupt deformation of the floor (fault crossing) and propagation of seismic wave? How can I take these conditions to the program?, since it is the first time that I work with this. I would thank for any type of help they to lend me.
Cesar Moreno

#21743 - 10/22/08 11:24 AM Re: Seismic evaluation of buried pipelines [Re: morenogcesar]
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
CAESAR II uses linear-elastic 3D beam elements. The loads are user defined, applied to the node points, and remain constant.

Deformation of the Floor: You would have to specify this as displacements of the (support) nodes.

Buoyancy due to Liquefaction: I suppose you could simulate this by altering the densities, but this would be a manual adjustment.

Abrupt Deformation of the floor: If you were running dynamics this could be done with a psuedo-static displacement. In statics you would have to displace a portion of the model to approximate this.