Topic Options
#21556 - 10/14/08 02:50 PM Duplicating pipe sections...
Fidens Offline

Loc: Florida, USA
I’m very new to using CAESAR II, so this may be a trivial question, but I’m really in need of help. Also, I’m not sure if this is the right forum to post this on, but here it goes. I would like to know how to duplicate several pipe sections. Now, I’m NOT asking about the duplicate button (I know that just duplicates the current element) What I’m talking about is SEVERAL different sections. For example, imagine two long pipes, and every few 100 feet there are branches/”arms” coming out of these pipes into other pipes/tanks. These branches are repetitive and I would like to be able to ARRAY or COPY even MIRROR these sections. I hope I’ve been clear, let me know if I wasn’t. I would appreciate any info/help on this matter.

On using CAESAR II Version 5.10

Thank you

#21584 - 10/15/08 11:10 AM Re: Duplicating pipe sections... [Re: Fidens]
C B Smith Offline

Loc: Golden, Colorado
You want to do a "Block Duplication". Information on this is found in the Technical Reference Manual.

Basically you need to go to the Edit/List/Elements spreadsheet form of the input, highlight the rows you want to duplicate (similar to highlighting rows in Excel), and the use the Block Duplicate button (2 blue boxes with a red arrow pointing to a red box). This brings up the Block Duplicate Dialog where you can choose to mirror the section, where the duplicated block is to be inserted, and to change the node numbers. Two clicks on okays and the block is duplicated. For branches you will have to go back to the new branches and change the from node at the tees.

#21591 - 10/15/08 01:22 PM Re: Duplicating pipe sections... [Re: C B Smith]
corne Offline

Loc: The Netherlands
In stead of highlighting the elements in the lists, you can also use the select multiple items arrow in the graphic display and select all necessary items that way.