Topic Options
#16692 - 03/18/08 05:17 AM Big Problem with Unreinforced Tee
JR Park Offline

Loc: KL, Malaysia
Im currently working flare line. The problem is expansion overstress on the branch which is unreinforced tee. I cannot change routing because we're now in the latter part of the project. I made an honest human mistake in the input of the sif before. I input welding in sif instead of unreinforced tee. Im a new stress engineer, but I know this not an excuse. Im really stressed right now and don't know what to do. Please please help me.

PS: We are not allowed to use reinforcing pads in branches.

#16696 - 03/18/08 06:57 AM Re: Big Problem with Unreinforced Tee [Re: JR Park]
MPB Offline

Loc: Perth
Some considerations, not necessarily recommendations-
-Can you control the expansion through use of guides and stops
-Does material and number of cycles permit the use of stress range factor greater than 1 as per latest B31.3, if this is indeed your code.
-Are the design conditions realistic
-Are you using the liberal stress range
-If so, does sustained stress play much of a role, eg what happens when you vary the 'sustained stress SIF multiplier'
-Have you treated the branch as an anchor with applied displacements? If so, modelling more of the header may reduce calculated stresses.
-Make sure you consider the full temperature range from Max to Min temperatures, and multiple operating scenarios if significant
-Is there a corrosion allowance and if so have you considered 'all cases corroded'
-Have you considered the WRC 329 SIF
-Can you use a thicker wall, or a welding tee or a weldolet
-Discuss all this with your lead
-I find you can almost always get a line rerouted if need be

regards
Martin

#16697 - 03/18/08 07:03 AM Re: Big Problem with Unreinforced Tee [Re: JR Park]
John Breen Offline

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA (& Texas)
McLovin

I will assume that your modeling is correct and all your loading cases are correct.