Topic Options
#16501 - 03/05/08 01:33 PM Load Cases
Deepthi Offline

Loc: San Dimas, CA
Hello,

I am relatively new to CAESAR and stress analysis. I am doing system analysis(only pipe, doesnot include component analysis and pipe support analysis)using ASME B31.3.

I am confused about the load cases I have to comply with.I have been reading couple of books and this is the information I collected:

From
(a)Piping and Pipe Support Systems by Paul R Smith Pg75:-

(1)Stresses due to sustained loads Sl<Sh
(2)Stresses due to occasional loads(consider wind or siesmic+pressure+wt) <1.33Sh
(3)Stresses due to expansion loadings

(b)From ASME B31.3, 321 1st para "The design of support structures and of supporting elements shall be based on all CONCURRENTLY acting loads transmitted into such supports. These loads, defined in para 301, include weight effects, loads introduced by service pressures and temperatures, vibration, wind, earthquake, shock, and displacement strain."

(c)From ASME B31.3 examples, Appendix S301

(1) sustained load case for stresses - agrees with (a)(1) above
(2) Displacement load case for expansion stresses agrees with (a)(3) above
(3) operating load case for nozzle allowables(to aid in equipment design) and support forces & movements(to aid in support design)

They dont mention anything about (a) (2) above.

Does (a)(2) needs to be considered for allowable stresses to comply with code or not?

(c) CAESAR ii (correct me if I am wrong with this case)
When you enter all the input and go to 'Static Load case' screen and press Recommend button, it would show you all the load cases that necessarily need to be analyzed. I used this after entering ASME B31.3 as the code to be used and also entering wind and siesmic data. But, Recommended cases do not show that wind or siesmic have to be analyzed. They also dont show that I have to combine weight and pressure with wind or siesmic.