Topic Options
#16027 - 02/18/08 02:24 AM is code compliance enough?
shan Offline

Loc: sharjah
Hi all,
I am working on a wellhead line of material A106-B with 77deg C and 140bar.
I have just started my career in stress analysis but i have worked for two years in layout. I have modelled the line with sufficient supports. now, the system passed code compliance & the stresses are within limit.
Now, can i confirm the system is ok & secured and take the reports to finalise it?
If the code compliance is passed, the system is safe?
or i have to further check out anything else?
If so, what are the steps i have to take after code compliance passed?
Since i am new to this field i need this basic help. please give me a basic idea of the requirements in stress analysis. I will appreciate it if anyone spares time and help me in this basic query. thank you in advance.

#16030 - 02/18/08 03:07 AM Re: is code compliance enough? [Re: shan]
MoverZ Offline

Loc: Hants, UK
What about fatigue ? Equipment loads ? And is there wellhead thermal displacement ? All fundametnal issues.

With 2 years in layout and obviously no stress experience, you need to find an expert in your company or elsewhere to guide you. Othewise with the best intentions, you may engineer a disaster that will destroy at least you career and possibly the lives of others.

Get help a.s.a.p., good luck.

#16038 - 02/18/08 07:18 AM Re: is code compliance enough? [Re: MoverZ]
shan Offline

Loc: sharjah
Dear Moverz,
Thanks for your reply. There is one senior person in my company. i approached him. but he advised me to refer net or articles and learn by myself(however, he will finally check & validate). thats why i sought for guidance here.