Theoretical to CAESAR model spanning study.

Posted by: Mattcaroni

Theoretical to CAESAR model spanning study. - 05/06/19 07:15 PM

Good day.

I am currently new on the software and would appreciate any comments and suggestion. As a new stress engineer I've read some subjects of the following:
-Roark's formula for stress and strain
-Stress Design of piping systems Mw-Kellog
-Pipe Stress engineering by peng
-Piping introduction to pipe stress kannappan

I am aware that based on my theoretical calculations from simply supported at both ends and uniformly loaded beam with both ends fixed does not provide any idea on how the orientation of the pipe should be. I am trying to use my computed length of supports around equipment with this formulas. However, when I try to model it through CAESAR II, the shown displacements under SUS only are way too conservative.

Any insights, ideas would be appreciated as I am aware I lack or missing certain understanding which leads to my confusion. Thank you.

Posted by: anubis512

Re: Theoretical to CAESAR model spanning study. - 05/07/19 05:43 AM

I'm having trouble understanding your issue. You did manual calculations for a pipe segment (presumably including only two supports) and you say the equivalent C2 model is overly conservative (ie, displacements exceed your expected values)?

What kinds of supports? Temperature/pressure? What piping code?
Posted by: Michael_Fletcher

Re: Theoretical to CAESAR model spanning study. - 05/07/19 02:13 PM

I recommend you provide calculations so that we may better comment.

Please understand there are safety factors built into the software and the code that take account for real world effects, such as mill tolerance, uneven corrosion, etc.

Re: Theoretical to CAESAR model spanning study. - 05/13/19 05:48 PM

I've been trying to reply to this thread with my calculations, however it keeps on saying. Encountered a problem. The reason reported was
Database error only visible to forum administrators