Issues modeling elbows near restraints

Posted by: ruiDiogo

Issues modeling elbows near restraints - 08/22/18 07:12 AM

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to CII, so please bear with me. I'm having trouble modeling elbows that are near restraints. Visually, there seems to be enough space to model said bends, so I can't figure out what it is I'm doing wrong.
Please see attached images for more details on this issue.

Thanks for the help.

PS: The element dimensions are based on actual field, measurements, so extending or shrinking one of the elements isn't really an option.
Posted by: Richard Ay

Re: Issues modeling elbows near restraints - 08/23/18 07:19 AM

It would be better to send your model in so we can look at it. Either attach it here or file an SR on Smart Support.

Re: Issues modeling elbows near restraints - 08/24/18 04:23 AM

Thank you for replying, Richard.
Please find attached a simplified version of my problem - you can see the elbows are badly warped.

Regards,

Rui
Posted by: Dave Diehl

Re: Issues modeling elbows near restraints - 08/24/18 07:54 AM

I believe it's something on our end. The output plot shows the bends as you would expect.

You have quite a family of skewed pipe and I also notice some interesting units selection. I would like to see your .fil (units) file.

I threw in a regular old 90 degree in your model and it shows up fine:
Posted by: Richard Ay

Re: Issues modeling elbows near restraints - 08/27/18 07:00 AM

This is simply a numeric precision problem with the graphics. When plotting bends (or anything else), all data is being converted into LENGTH units (OD, Bend-Radius, etc.). This may make some small/decimal values. All graphics calculations for bends are single-precision (and rounded). In addition, this job is skewed from the global coordinate system, which adds to precision issue by generating very small off axis values.