I am new to CAESAR, and new to this forum as well. New to stress calculations, so please excuse me if I am asking dumb things.
On the other hand I have 25+ years experience on modelling of pipe systems for dynamic analysis (pulsation and vibration problems). I also have been the project leader for the maintenance and development of the TNO 'PULSIM' software and the P3D graphical user interface for pipe systems.

I recently started using CAESAR for building/analyzing a pulsation damper with internals connected to a short piping section and try to calculate natural frequencies and vibration velocities.

I ran into the usual problems when starting with (for me) new software. I wrote down a few things that, IMHO, may help developers or others users to think about.

Would appreciate some feedback and am willing to help on further improvements. I do realize that CAESAR is special software and that one of the problems will be limited budget to make big changes. I can speak about that as a former project leader of similar software (PULSIM).

Here we go (btw, I use 5.0):

1 - General remarks

a - I still don't get used to the fact that there is a main window at program start up where you can load a piping model and nothing happens then! I have to start the piping input mode and get a second window which again allows me to load a model. But ONLY for the model type. I cannot load a structural model then. Very weird. Loading and saving a model should be kept at one place, with direct access to the model after loading.

b - CAESAR changes the extension of my piping model from 'C 2' to '_A' during a session and backward. Similar behaviour on structure files (str). Since the STR file is text format I got lost several times when I was editting the text input file for use in CAESAR...