Topic Options
#71439 - 04/06/18 03:03 AM Negative restraint types?
JonNos Offline

Loc: UK
Hello,
I am new to Caesar II and this Forum, so please bear with me if these are a silly questions or they have been answered before (my search didn't yield anything useful):

According to the CII documentation I have seen, restraint type are only positive. So:

1. Why does Caesar sometimes return negative restraint types in the return neutral file? What is their meaning?
2. How does Caesar interpret negative restraint types in the input neutral file?

Many thanks,

JN

#71449 - 04/06/18 08:38 AM Re: Negative restraint types? [Re: JonNos]
Michael_Fletcher Offline

Loc: Louisiana, US
You have 6 axes.

Global: X, Y, and Z.
Local: Axial, Lateral, and Vertical.

Negative restraints are simply restraints oriented in the negative direction. If +X is South, then -X is North. X indicates both North and South.

Edit to add:

Piping situated along the primary axis is the most common scenario. Therefore, X, Y, Z, +X, +Y, +Z, -X, -Y, and -Z can be substituted with LIM, GUI, +LIM, +GUI, -LIM, -GUI depending on the situation.

However, when your piping is at an arbitrary angle, X, Y, and Z definitions remain in the primary axes. It is generally better to use LIM and GUI variants. Alternatively, supports can be defined as X(#,#,#), +X(#,#,#), -X(#,#,#), where #,#,# is the unit vector of the support in question.

Edited by Michael_Fletcher (04/06/18 08:46 AM)
Edit Reason: Noted

#71451 - 04/06/18 09:13 AM Re: Negative restraint types? [Re: JonNos]
Dorin Daniel Popescu Offline

Loc: Middle East
JN,

Here is the actual situation:

There are not "positive" and "negative" restraints in CII. They are actually UNI-DIRECTIONAL RESTRAINTS.

Assuming the most frequent case when Y is the upward vertical direction, +Y restraints is the most typical restraint: SIMPLE REST SUPPORT, meaning that Pipe Movement is ALLOWED ALONG POSITIVE DIRECTION OF "Y" axis and FORBIDDEN ALONG "Y" NEGATIVE DIRECTION.