Topic Options
#57098 - 12/10/13 04:45 AM Pressure SIF
pooria1978 Offline

Loc: Netherlands

this may not directly relate to CII software but I might be able to use a little help from the experienced pipe stress engineers here:

I have a 45 degree pipe to pipe connection in my calculation and the all time dilemma of whether to use Codeti or FE method to figure the SIF value (design code is B31.1)
I made a simplified calculation in FE pipe and here are my observations:
1- the FE SIF inplane/outplane of a normal connection is larger than a 45 degree one
2- In a 45 degree connection the pressure SIF is way higher than its value in a normal connection
3- I am quite dubious about which SIF I will have to use in my calculation ( max (inpane/outplane) or pressure SIF)

I would appreciate if I could get a good explanation about the above points

thanks

#57117 - 12/11/13 10:03 AM Re: Pressure SIF [Re: pooria1978]
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
From Tony Paulin of PRG:

There are block fittings and pipe laterals. Block fittings for 45’s are used in steam lines mostly and the Do/T ratios are <7ish, and in these cases some further considerations may be warranted. (You know if you have a block fitting.)

For other types of 45’s:
1)We are getting ready to run burst tests since there is some concern about those. We should have those results in about a month for a D/T=91 lateral. The suspicion is that the elastic FEA method is more than adequately conservative in large lambda regions, where lambda is (D/T)^0.5 x (d/D). Large lambda is lambda greater than around 7ish too. (There is a conservative adjustment factor in the Bildy method in VIII-2 Part 4 nozzle design for pressure.) (So the conclusion here is that the elastic FEA design for pressure is likely conservative and maybe too conservative.)