Topic Options
#52547 - 01/18/13 05:24 PM Sustain Stress - Load On Supports
NZE Offline

Loc: Canada
I am new in CAESAR II …

I couldn’t find clear answer for my question, from previous posts.

When we see lift off in OPE we need to remove lifted off supports for SUS stress check. But what shall we do for supports that haven’t been lifted off, but the loads on supports have changed?

If we only remove the lifted off supports and don’t consider change in loads on other supports we can’t get correct SUS stress.

#52551 - 01/18/13 10:41 PM Re: Sustain Stress - Load On Supports [Re: NZE]
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
Read the discussion in the CAESAR II documentation on "Hot Sustained Stress".

We do not subscribe to the idea that a support should be removed from the model. That may (or may not) be correct for one load case only. Your model must address all conditions of the piping system.

#52600 - 01/22/13 09:31 AM Re: Sustain Stress - Load On Supports [Re: NZE]
Dave Diehl Offline

Loc: Houston, TX, USA
I believe you are digging deeper than most here. The Codes say very little about nonlinear response in evaluating stress. One of the more recent interpretations (issued by B31.3?) states that longitudinal stress shall be evaluated in all support configurations. So, if a pipe lifts off a support due to thermal strain, rerun the sustained case with those "missing" supports removed.
We here at ICAS (old COADE) have always promoted our recommended load cases as adequate. If the pipe yields under sustained load, the pipe will relax and once again rest on the support - a strain event that we believe belongs in the expansion stress range calculation.
If you want to include that change in sustained load that you mention, run an operating case minus the strain case (the indicated case below):
L1: W+T1+P1+D1 (OPE)
L2: W+P1 (SUS)
L3: T1+D1 (EXP)
L4: L1-L2 (EXP)
L5: L1-L3 (SUS) <==

#52616 - 01/22/13 04:14 PM Re: Sustain Stress - Load On Supports [Re: NZE]