Topic Options
#21265 - 10/05/08 10:45 PM Analysis with GRP Material
adi singh Offline

Loc: india
Dear Frds

I am doing a Caesar analysis, in which the pipe material is GRP-FKT, the pipe size is 48". Analysis Code is DIN 13480.

I am new to this type of analysis,
as how to feed the material input in caesar and Stress allowables values.

Please help me.

With Regards
Aditya Singh

#21267 - 10/06/08 01:01 AM Re: Analysis with GRP Material [Re: adi singh]
anindya stress Offline

Loc: London, UK
I have never used DIN 13480, hence would not comment anything on this code. However for general GRP analysis, the following rules apply:

Discuss the analysis with your vendor in terms of support span, coefficient of expansion and elastic modulus and poisson ratio perperties. GRP being orthotropic, these values will be different for different directions.Also discuss with the vendor about use of mechanical or adhesive joints in your system. There are advantages of both and some mechanical joints are not designed for taking thrust loads.

Also discuss the SIF an d Flexibility factors for bends and fittings. Remember that SIF can be less than 1 for GRP bends and flexibility can be lower than straight pipes.

To the extent I know, CAESAR II supports UKOOA and BS7159 for GRP analysis and I presume that your code should not be too different from this.The ISO14692 is an extension of UKOOA code and it is possible to implement ISO14692 rules within the UKOOA module of CAESAR II.

Read the requirements of your code and see in what best way it is possible to implement ( if at all possible) in CASESAR II.One you have read the code and discussed the issue with your vendor, things can be taken forward from thre regarding CAESAR II implementation.

Hope this helps.

Regards

#21271 - 10/06/08 01:54 AM Re: Analysis with GRP Material [Re: anindya stress]
adi singh Offline

Loc: india
Thanks Anindya....