Topic Options
#16284 - 02/26/08 11:08 PM Roller bearing...
bom Offline

Loc: Manila, Philippines
Hi all,

After running thru different adjustment of spring and vertical support near at pump, it seems like this problem dont quit. All flexibility are tried and failed. BUT... I have this option last option which my project engineer dont agree the use of "roller bearing"(simply because he dont have any experence with it). I am new to this practice so I would like to ask for your opinion of the credibility of this roller bearing in service and also economic aspect...

Thank you!

Regards!

#16311 - 02/27/08 09:01 AM Re: Roller bearing... [Re: bom]
John Breen Offline

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA (& Texas)
Have you investigated spring mounted pump bases?

Roller bearings? Not something that I have ever seen.

John

#16324 - 02/27/08 05:27 PM Re: Roller bearing... [Re: John Breen]
bom Offline

Sir Breen,

My suction configuration is almost and L(all segment are in horizontal), two of vertical supports are spring hanger(the only two) because of pump displacement of nozzle, one in the pump segment and one in other segment. I put close two guide in the long segment of L so ther will no rotaion at the vertical axis.

Now the problem is, when the segment(not in pump)experience thermal growth, the horizontal loading of both guide is very big that a friction reaction force of a teflon (mu=.1) would exceed pump allowables. When doing friction less, it probably drop to 50% w/r allowable. So I try to look at the vendor catalog where I find Roller bearings with mu(max)=4% to the reaction.

Thank you...

Regards!

#16327 - 02/27/08 11:47 PM Re: Roller bearing... [Re: bom]
sam Offline

Loc: Maharastra, India
Dear,

Isn't it a too obvious solution! Also, will bearing vendor certify maximum friction coefficient not more than 0.04 ?