Topic Options
#10660 - 04/11/07 02:23 AM Temperature transition
Jorge Peso Offline

Loc: Switzerland
Hi to you all:

Maybe What I am asking is very simple, but I have no long experience with it, and after looking for it and asking some people I have not been able to find an answer; the question is the following:

I have an 8" 100 meters long steam pipe (250 ēC) and a hammer caused a displacement of more than 200 mm and all the shoes in this pipe on the rack are "out of place", I mean, displaced and trapped with the rack beams; so; they want to stop the line for sometime to fix it, and they want to know the behaviour of the pipe during the transition from 250ēC to 21ēC (ambient temperature), something like: "how long will it take until the shoes break (or the pipe)? Is there any way of making this type of transitory study with Caesar? If anyone coul guide me with this.

thank you very much.

Jorge Peso.

#10662 - 04/11/07 03:01 AM Re: Temperature transition [Re: Jorge Peso]
uhloop Offline

hello Jorge,

I would like to propose you to expand your normal input data by following:
1. add limit stops with gaps to the involved supports - considering pipe rack beam width, pipeshoe length and initial pipeshoe location.
2. add CNODE to that supports refering to displacement input for pipeshoe hight and axial movements.
3. add new load case(s) for the trapped situations (using displacement definition)
After that you should be able to discribe the piping before and after that accident for different temperatures.

If there was happened no damage of pipeshoe connection to steel structure but only the large unexpected displacements I recommend to check that piping system regarding missing static/dynamic anchor points / limit stops.

regards

#10667 - 04/11/07 07:09 AM Re: Temperature transition [Re: uhloop]
Jouko Offline