Topic Options
#4572 - 01/16/06 09:49 AM Modeling PSV
Art Dieter Offline

Loc: Tucson, Arizona
I'm a beginner in pipe stress as in using CII likewise. I need to confirm that to include the thrust load induced by PSV during relief, the load calculated as per B31.3 should be added to the input spreadsheet and refer to the tee. With the PSV modeled like an angle valve, say the branch line is going to atmosphere or could be to a silencer, and the base of PSV is connected to a tee on pipe, is the thrust load be referred to the tee in the pipe or the node (kind of a tee too) where PSV branched to vent? Thanks to this forum.

#4573 - 01/30/06 01:22 PM Re: Modeling PSV
El Gringo Offline

Loc: Colombia
Art,

Your post is a couple of week’s old. I suspect it hasn’t been answered because it’s not clear what your question is. If I understand your system correctly, you have a PSV that branches from a header at a tee. The PSV discharges to atmosphere through a long, continuous run of pipe (i.e more than a couple of pipe diameters) and does not discharge into a separate vent pipe system. I also assume that you have calculated the reaction forces using B31.1 rules or some other calculation and that you want to input the loads into a Caesar II static analysis to determine whether the branch connection is overstressed. Let us know if these assumptions are correct.

P.S. I am currently on site and do not have my reference materials with me, so it may be two weeks or more before I can get back to you. Someone else on the forum may be able to answer this in the meantime.

Regards,

#4574 - 02/14/06 09:27 PM Re: Modeling PSV
Art Dieter Offline

Loc: Tucson, Arizona