Topic Options
#2936 - 05/23/05 06:28 AM Nozzle loads in Occasional Conditions
W.John Offline

Loc: New Zealand
Hi,
I am a relatively newbie in this field. I am doing an analysis for an air-cooler inlet line. The project site is located in a seismic active zone.
For stresses in occ cases, the code allows us UPTO 1.33 times normal allowable stresses. My question is what about nozzle loads ? I am aware that the codes do not have anything to say about nozzle loads. It is upto the industry standards and the project standards. Since this forum has highly experienced members from across the industry, they might be able to tell, what is the normal practice for considering nozzle loads in OCC (Seismic) case. If there is a practice of allowing higher nozzle loads, then is this practice only for pressure vessels or heat exchangers ? What about Pumps, Turbines, Compressors, Air cooled exchangers etc. ? Please help me.
Best Regards
John Wright

#2937 - 05/23/05 07:30 AM Re: Nozzle loads in Occasional Conditions
Mandeep Singh Offline

Loc: Houston, Tx, USA
John,

The nozzle loads can be analyzed using Welding Research Council bulletins 107, 297 etc. When you use the WRC-107 bulletin in CAESAR II (and in our other software) then you can enter the loads in different categories, Sustained, Expansion and Occasional. The stresses from the occasional run are combined the sustained and allowables are increased by 20 %. Here are allowables for all the combinations:

Code:
       Type of     |        S.I. Allowable     |     
      Stress Int.  |                           |
    ---------------|----------------------------
    Pm (SUS)       |       S                   | 
    Pm (SUS+OCC)   |       k*S 		       | 
    Pm+Pl (SUS)    |       1.5*S 	       | 
    Pm+Pl (SUS+OCC)|       1.5*k*S 	       | 
    Pm+Pl+Q (TOTAL)|       3*Savg 	       | 
where,
S = code tensile allowable
k = 1.2 increase factor for occasional stresses