Topic Options
#68128 - 01/19/17 05:59 PM seismic loads on pump nozzles
charlot Offline

Loc: france
Hello everyone,

Sorry I'm new to stress analysis. My problem with this pump is that it's kinda impossible to lower the seismic loads on pump nozzles with considering gaps on the supports. I Know for occasional loads, guides with gap and without friction are the worst case. but please let me know if I've modeled it wrong or if I'm missing something?

Thank you

Attachments
SENT.C2 (300 downloads)

#68133 - 01/20/17 01:18 AM Re: seismic loads on pump nozzles [Re: charlot]
CAESARIII Offline

Loc: Seoul, S.Korea
Charlot,

More detail please,

First of all, all the input data has been input correctly??

Your pump nozzle is 230? or 1160? or else?
Which case cause problem?
Do you have allowable nozzle load? Or any specific code/standard for pump? Habe the pump nozzle load to be below the allowable load?
Can the allowable load be increased during occasional?
Are you able to add/delete support? or change the pipe route?
Engineered support such as spring support or snubber etc. can be used?

If there aren't proper x, z direction restraint(without gap), you can't prevent seismic load acting on the pump nozzle. But when you add guide/stopper at the support, if the nozzle load exceed by thermal reaction. you need to change the route or include small gap or use other support which does not limit the thermal displacement.

There are too much consideration, for given limited information.

By the way, your way of inputting the data shall be checked too. you cannot weld elbow to straight line directly, and have you check the minimum tee length?

#68134 - 01/20/17 07:40 AM Re: seismic loads on pump nozzles [Re: charlot]
danb Offline

Loc: ...
Are you sure you have 1.49g? seems very high.

#68137 - 01/20/17 12:28 PM Re: seismic loads on pump nozzles [Re: charlot]
charlot Offline

CAESAR

The Input data is correct as far as I know.