Topic Options
#17021 - 04/02/08 06:42 PM CAESAR II - Seismic Load & Discharge of Pressure Relief Valv
Drama Offline

Loc: Portugal
hello to everybody

- I'm a beginner in CAESAR II and I need simulate a model to seismic loads but I do not understand this:

Inputs:
frequency cutoff = 33 Hz.
damping coeff. = 0
Nš of frequencies = 100

I do not see frequencies greater than 1,0 Hz (or 1,1 Hz). Why?

- The other question is: I need to put a force in pipes due to the discharge of pressure relief valves. So what I do is, taking in consideration that the maximum design pressure is 1,95MPa and pipe has a NPS=12in, therefore the applied force in the pipe would be the result of this two conditions which is app. 25 MPa.
It seems to be exaggerated.
What am I doing wrong ?

If anyone can help me just let me know.
Thank in advance.
Drama

#17022 - 04/02/08 09:14 PM Re: CAESAR II - Seismic Load & Discharge of Pressure Relief Valv [Re: Drama]
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
A dynamic seismic analysis is not something that should be performed without guidance. Is there someone there that can help you, and review your work (and assumptions)?

The "Frequency Cut-off" is the frequency at which you're telling the solver to stop extracting eigen-values (natural frequencies) and eigen-vectors (mode shapes). For a seismic analysis this cut-off is usually 33hz (because all the energy in an earthquake is below this value). CAESAR II will solve for one frequency above your cut-off (it has to detect that it passed the cut-off).

The "Damping Ratio" should be left alone. You can read the "help text" on this item (press [F1]) for more information. I wouldn't change this unless you have a really really really good reason.