Topic Options
#14247 - 11/09/07 10:09 AM Expansion Joint Effective ID
ak2004 Offline

Loc: TX
Hello all,
In Caesar's on-line documentation for expansion joint's effective ID, it states that "If left blank, or zero, then no axial thrust force due to pressure will be calculated."
My question is when do we intentionally leave this data blank or zero? Which scenarios do we not calculate the pressure thrust for expansion joints?

Thanks.

#14248 - 11/09/07 12:02 PM Re: Expansion Joint Effective ID [Re: ak2004]
julius2 Offline

Loc: philippines
I am not an expert but I suggest that you:

1. Continue reading the caesar II documentations regarding expansion joints and the answer is there.
2. Search this forum, a lot of experts have tackled expansion joints many times here. Some even gave very informative websites.

Goodluck.

#14249 - 11/09/07 01:41 PM Re: Expansion Joint Effective ID [Re: julius2]
Jouko Offline

For me if you model the expansion joint correctly you can always enter the effective ID. To leave it out can be dangerous. As a very rough figure from NB200 up use pipe OD plus 60 mm. Below maybe OD plus 40. Try to get the correct value always.

Where you do not need to enter?
- gimbal
- hinge
- tied compensator most of the time. To prevent problems I would enter always.

Then there is the issue of nozzle load. Full pressure thrust goes to the vessel anchor but only effective ID less pipe OD on the nozzle (if you do not have hinges or rods on other anchors).

Be carefull on this pressure thrust. It can be huge. Last item I designed had over 800 kN and the pressure is not even high. In this case there are 4 of them installed side by side. 4 x 800 kN. I would say you can move a building.

Jouko
jouko@jat.co.za

#14259 - 11/11/07 12:08 AM Re: Expansion Joint Effective ID [Re: Jouko]
Moorthi Offline

Loc: India
Jouko Sir, for 800 KN, the structure may be too high, why you didn't go for Inlined proessure balanced bellow in that case..