Topic Options
#9614 - 02/02/07 02:36 AM diff. b/w sif and stress range reduction factor?
Damanpreet Singh Offline

Loc: Gurgaon, India
i am new to piping field. this is my first experience sharing with you.
acc. to me, sif is used whenever there is a discontonuity in a piping system(change in a dimensions). purpose of sif is to increases the flexibility of that part.
stress range reduction factor is used to take care of fatigue failure.
i dont know whether it is right or wrong?
can you suggest regarding to this topic.

Regards,
Damanpreet Singh

#9623 - 02/02/07 09:32 AM Re: diff. b/w sif and stress range reduction factor? [Re: Damanpreet Singh]
Richard Ay Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
No that isn't correct.

The SIF (Stress Intensification Factor) is used in the "Code Stress" equation to increase the computed stress value of the bending term.

....................Sbending = i * M / Z

where "i" is the SIF.

Yes the 'stress range reduction factor' is used to limit the computed allowable stress as a function of the anticipated operating cycles the system will experience.

Edited by Richard Ay (02/02/07 09:34 AM)

#9626 - 02/02/07 10:06 AM Re: diff. b/w sif and stress range reduction facto [Re: Richard Ay]
John C. Luf Offline

Loc: U.S.A.
so lets see.... "Gee I know nothing, I have taken no time of my own to acquire knowledge, and I want somebody to spoon feed me."

Sheesh!!! For all of our sakes search this forum, and do some independent study!

sick frown mad

Edited by John C. Luf (02/02/07 10:07 AM)

John C. Luf

#9629 - 02/03/07 12:43 AM Re: diff. b/w sif and stress range reduction facto [Re: John C. Luf]
Damanpreet Singh Offline

Sir

i am refering Piping Handbook by Mohinder Nayyar for reference purpose. Acc. to that book, SIF is nothing but Differrence between Max. intensity stress upon Nominal stress. It means it directly leads to Stress Concentration Factor. Stress Concentration caused when there is any discontinuity in a component.