Topic Options
#4130 - 11/08/05 11:40 AM Multiple Pumps: Operating Cases
Ryan Offline

Loc: AL
Hello,
I am looking for someone to help me out in making operating cases for multiple pumps. I know this is a very lame question to post in this forum. I am new to pipe stress calculation and trying to learn things while working on a project. If we have 3 pumps A,B,C in a system and only 2 would be operating (say A&B) at any given time, then how should one simulate the temperature profile of the lines to/from stand-by pump C? I would greatly appreciate the help. Thanks.

#4131 - 11/08/05 03:20 PM Re: Multiple Pumps: Operating Cases
Edward Klein Offline

Loc: Houston, Texas, USA
Generally speaking, you're best off taking the segments from the tee on the suction, through the pump, and out to the tee on the discharge side, as "ambient". You will need at least four cases to run

1. All Pumps Running
2. Pump A Idle
3. Pump B Idle
4. Pump C Idle

I generally run case 1 for the purpose of sizing spring hangers. Typically, these systems suffer becuase of the difference in growth between the running pump and idle pump piping.

Now, if you have a set of hot pumps (say 300°F+), you'll often find that the spared pump(s) is kept at temperature via a warm-up bypass line that allows a small flow backward through the pump. The reason for this is to avoid the potential for cracking due to thermal shock, but it has the added benefit for us of getting rid of the big temperature differential between the running and idle pumps.

All the world is a Spring

#4132 - 11/08/05 06:31 PM Re: Multiple Pumps: Operating Cases
Mike Kowal Offline

Loc: Perth, Australia
Refer to WRC-449 "Guidelines for the Design and Installation of Pump Piping Systems" which has some excellent piping stress guidelines. For example, what temperatures to use for the idle pump piping, or "warm-up bypass" piping.

#4133 - 03/09/06 11:38 PM Re: Multiple Pumps: Operating Cases
sam Offline

Loc: Maharastra, India